他們有話兒…

 
 

「屈臣氏集團香港學生運動員獎」(SSA)自2005年成立以來,嘉許了許多表現出色的學生運動員。其中不少得獎者在參加領袖工作坊及交流團後,在運動場上和人生路上都得到啟發,開創出不一樣的未來。讓我們一起欣賞歷屆得獎學生的勵志故事,感受他們從SSA中得到的體會吧!

 
 
石偉雄

難忘良師益友

石偉雄

2006-2007及2007-2008年度得獎學生運動員
運動專項:體操

石偉雄

難忘良師益友

石偉雄

2006-2007及2007-2008年度得獎學生運動員
運動專項:體操

 
 

2014年是香港體操王子石偉雄(石仔)的豐收年,在仁川亞運會跳馬項目上的經典一跳,為香港奪得史上首面體操亞運金牌。原來石仔的全職運動員之路,始於「屈臣氏集團香港學生運動員獎」(SSA)。

「SSA激發了我成為全職運動員的決心。」
「SSA激發了我成為全職運動員的決心。」

2007年,當時年僅17歲的石偉雄憑著出色的運動表現,與其他同樣獲得「屈臣氏集團香港學生運動員獎」的學生一起參加運動交流團。當中參觀北京國家體操訓練館的一幕,令石仔沒齒難忘:「當時親眼目睹國家隊成員為奧運會全力備戰,激發了我成為全職運動員的決心。」石仔回港後,正式向教練申請成為全職運動員,開始向廣大的體育世界邁進。

「香港學生運動員獎」除了激發了他全身投入體育界的決心外,過程中與其他得獎學生的交流亦令他得益不少:「SSA讓我認識了來自不同運動項目的朋友,他們各有值得學習的長處,令我獲益良多。在交流團中,我還學習到團結精神和與人相處的技巧,對我日後的運動生涯大有裨益。」

石偉雄石偉雄在亞運金牌背後,經歷過多次傷患及2012年倫敦奧運會上的失利,石仔直言情緒低落時總會想起昔日SSA好友及校長的扶持。「以往每次遇上困難,SSA的朋友及校長均會跟我說很多勉勵說話。往後我遇上低潮時,都會想起他們的鼓勵,並提醒自己人生難免遇到挫折,只要堅持理想,不輕言放棄,總有一天會成功。」石偉雄用親身經歷,證明了堅持、不放棄,就是邁向成功的不二法門。

 
 
鍾煥露

用一支筆延續
體育激情

鍾煥露

2008-2009年度得獎學生運動員
運動專項:欖球、田徑

鍾煥露

用一支筆延續
體育激情

鍾煥露

2008-2009年度得獎學生運動員
運動專項:欖球、田徑

 
 

「屈臣氏集團香港學生運動員獎」(SSA) 的得獎者背景各異,有來自不同學校的傑出運動員。鍾煥露(Lulu)當日代表的校隊雖屬學界第三組別,但不服輸的性格讓她爭取到種種機會,開拓精彩前程。

「這是一個光榮的使命。」
「這是一個光榮的使命。」
Lulu於2008至2009年度SSA得獎後,獲選參加北京交流團。參觀北京國家體操訓練館時看到運動員刻苦受訓,令她下定決心積極訓練:「他們訓練一整天,面對的只有四面牆及掛在牆上的兩句勉勵說話。相比之下,我每天只練習兩小時,實在是微不足道。他們刻苦堅毅的精神,激勵我每次訓練都要做到最好。」最終她的努力為她帶來首面學界女子田徑100米金牌。

升上大學後,Lulu仍然醉心運動,更成為了大學欖球隊隊員。現就讀中大新聞系的Lulu,在擔任實習體育記者時憑著出色表現,獲得採訪山東全運會及仁川亞運會的機會。兩年間就走訪了兩大賽事,是很多體育記者夢寐以求的機遇。她說:「最令我印象深刻的,是在仁川亞運會中有幸採訪同是SSA得獎者的石偉雄。當日親眼見證他奪得香港首面亞運金牌,令我十分激動。SSA像個大家庭,有成員外出比賽時,我就在現場採訪,與身在香港的其他成員分享喜悅。」

鍾煥露鍾煥露Lulu未來希望繼續為體育界賣力,用一支筆娓娓道出香港運動員的奮鬥故事:「我未必可以成為全職運動員,但我希望記錄香港運動員的奮鬥故事,把他們的精神宣揚開去。對我而言,這是一個光榮的使命。」

 
 
黃纓淇

無懼「眼」前障礙

黃纓淇

2008-2009年度得獎學生運動員
運動專項:跆拳道、田徑、遊泳

黃纓淇

無懼「眼」前障礙

黃纓淇

2008-2009年度得獎學生運動員
運動專項:跆拳道、田徑、遊泳

 
 

黃纓淇因先天患有嚴重斜視,導致眼部肌肉不協調,出現影像重疊的情況。然而,她無懼「眼」前障礙,成功用運動證明自己,田徑、游泳、跆拳道、柔道、越野、風帆樣樣皆能。2009年,她更獲得「屈臣氏集團香港學生運動員獎」(SSA),她坦言:「這獎項令我更有自信。」

「這獎項令我更有自信。」
「這獎項令我更有自信。」
現時正在英國修讀法律系的纓淇,可謂文武雙全,但原來她曾經也是個欠缺自信的女孩:「以前,由於斜視問題,別人會覺得跟我對話時沒有眼神交流,並認為我不禮貌。久而久之,令我不想再正視他人。」

為了證明自己與一般人無異,纓淇一直努力不懈,多年來於各界體育比賽中獲獎,更多次打破學界紀錄。2009年,纓淇獲她就讀的中學提名參選SSA,結果成功從香港羽毛球代表兼師姐葉姵延及前香港滑浪風帆代表陳敬然手上接受嘉許。

黃纓淇黃纓淇2010年是纓淇提升自信心的轉捩點。她以小組領袖身份,帶領該屆SSA得獎學生參加交流團,參觀南京和上海的運動員訓練基地。那次擔任組內的主導角色,令她鼓起勇氣主動與組員溝通:「交流團的最後一天,我收到組員們寫給我的心意咭,感謝我的付出。這讓我自此建立自信,不再怕與別人有眼神接觸。」

成功克服心魔的纓淇,將運動場上的自信心帶到書本上,引領她定下修讀法律並成為大律師的目標。如今,充滿自信的纓淇希望在學成後回港執業,在法庭上為公義而戰。

 
 
楊閏婷

專注堅毅成就
文武全才

楊閏婷

2008-2009年度得獎學生運動員
運動專項:田徑

楊閏婷

專注堅毅成就
文武全才

楊閏婷

2008-2009年度得獎學生運動員
運動專項:田徑

 
 

21歲的楊閏婷(Eunice)是中文大學醫學系四年級的「準醫生」,她當年是瑪利諾修院學校兩位八優生之一,以「8A2B」的佳績「拔尖」入讀中大。別小看這位外表斯文的高材生,她的運動細胞同樣活躍,中學時期被稱為「Maryknoll欄后」,更在2008年獲得「屈臣氏談集團香港學生運動員獎」。到她如何兩者兼顧,Eunice答道:「在運動場上的經歷,讓我學懂了如何專注及積極面對所有狀況,這心態讓我面對考試時更能放鬆心情,不會影響臨場發揮。」

「我學懂了如何專注及積極面對所有狀況。」
「我學懂了如何專注及積極面對所有狀況。」
能做到文武全才,達致學業和運動平衡,Eunice認為「專注」十分重要。她坦言「香港學生運動員獎」給她很大鼓勵,到北京交流亦啟發了她的做人態度:「當年我是去北京交流,有機會到國家體育總局參觀,令我印象深刻。近距離觀看世界頂尖運動員的訓練,令我更了解他們成功背後付出的艱辛。從他們身上,我明白『專注』的重要性。有清晰目標後,要在生活中學懂取捨,並專注地勇往直前,如跑步時要全神貫注,在書桌上亦要聚精會神。」

楊閏婷楊閏婷除了「專注」,Eunice十分認同「有志者事竟成」這句話,認為做人面對困難應積極面對,不應退縮。而感染她的人,就是跟她同屆奪得「屈臣氏集團香港學生運動員獎」的黃纓淇:「雖然纓淇有眼疾,但她努力克服眼疾的問題,在運動場上和學業上都取得好成績,她堅毅的態度絕對值得我學習。」

 
 
鄭貫言

一切從
SSA開始

鄭貫言

2009-2010年度得獎學生運動員
運動專項:足球、遊泳、網球

鄭貫言

一切從
SSA開始

鄭貫言

2009-2010年度得獎學生運動員
運動專項:足球、遊泳、網球

 
 

對鄭貫言 (Kenneth)而言,從「屈臣氏集團香港學生運動員獎」(SSA)得到的除了是獎項本身,更寶貴的是能擴闊生活圈子,認識更多朋友:「參加SSA頒獎禮和交流團是我加入這個大家庭的開始。」

「我得到很多寶貴的機會和經驗。」
「我得到很多寶貴的機會和經驗。」
Kenneth自小熱愛運動,在足球、游泳及網球方面均取得佳績,更於2010年成為SSA的得獎者,參與了該屆的寧滬交流團。五天的交流團讓Kenneth認識了不少好朋友,他亦非常感激屈臣氏集團團隊的悉心照料:「他們把參加者當作親生子女般用心照顧,而我們也樂於跟他們傾訴和分享自己的感受。」直到現在,不論是SSA的聚會還是分享會,只要Kenneth在港都一定出席。

Kenneth現於英國的大學就讀藥劑師課程四年級,而SSA也是他事業上的伯樂:「當年初到英國修讀藥劑課程,對行業認識不多,感到十分迷惘。SSA的網絡讓我在大學一年級,暑假回港時有機會到屈臣氏跟註冊藥劑師實習。」

鄭貫言鄭貫言成績不俗的Kenneth即將畢業,他已覓到理想的畢業出路──將會到屈臣氏集團旗下的英國健與美連鎖店Superdrug擔任實習藥劑師:「屈臣氏集團讓我得到很多寶貴的機會和經驗,令我決定畢業後加入這個大家庭。我更希望能以另一身分投入SSA,以我的經驗鼓勵更多學生運動員。」

 
 
楊小芳

「意外」
的精彩人生

楊小芳

2011-2012年度得獎學生運動員
運動專項:游泳、田徑

楊小芳

「意外」
的精彩人生

楊小芳

2011-2012年度得獎學生運動員
運動專項:游泳、田徑

 
 

楊小芳在9歲那年因意外需要截肢,自此過著沒有雙手的生活。然而,性格樂觀積極的她勇於面對種種挑戰。她喜歡運動,沒有因為身體上的障礙而停止;她喜歡繪畫,亦沒有因而擱筆。她的人生,並無因為那次意外而變得灰暗,反之,更為精彩。

「我期望能夠成為藝術治療師,傳揚SSA的精神,以生命影響生命。」
「我期望能夠成為藝術治療師,傳揚SSA的精神,以生命影響生命。」
運動,讓小芳擴闊眼界。她曾於2010年代表香港殘疾人士游泳代表隊到廣州參加亞洲殘疾人運動會,並於2012年獲得「屈臣氏集團香港學生運動員獎」參加其運動交流團:「中學時一直沒太多機會與外界接觸,直到參加了『寧滬運動交流團』,有機會探索國家級運動員的訓練基地,更重要是認識了來自全港各區學校的好朋友。」

運動,讓小芳更堅毅勇敢。由於她平常訓練游泳時只能靠雙腳和腰部發力,因此練習轉身及觸計時板也花了一段長時間才能成功。但她絕對沒有因為這些難關而放棄,反而更力求進步。她在「寧滬運動交流團」中,參觀當地游泳訓練基地,對那裡的逆流訓練池印象難忘:「內地的逆流訓練池可以控制水流速度,能有效提升運動員的能力和狀態。」

楊小芳楊小芳運動改變了小芳的人生觀,也影響了她身邊的人。小芳妹妹比她小一歲,坦言因為小芳的毅力而開始接觸游泳,現在也是一位游泳好手。運動以外,小芳現在也常以足代手來繪畫,期望能夠成為藝術治療師,以生命影響生命。

They Say…

 
 

Since its inception in 2005, “A.S. Watson Group Hong Kong Student Sports Award” (SSA) has been recognising numerous outstanding student athlete, many of which were inspired by the various activities such as Leadership Workshop and Sports Exchange Tour, finding their direction on the sports ground and also leading a different way of life. Let us now share the inspiring story of our past awardees!

 
 
Shek Wai-hung

Never Forget Good Teachers and Friends

Shek Wai-hung

2006-2007 and 2007-2008 SSA awardee
Sports item: Gymnastics

Shek Wai-hung

Never Forget Good Teachers and Friends

Shek Wai-hung

2006-2007 and 2007-2008 SSA awardee
Sports item: Gymnastics

 
 

For Shek Wai-hung, “Mr Gymnastics Hong Kong”, 2014 is a year of harvest when he made his historical top finish in the vault final of Incheon Asian Games and clinched Hong Kong’s first-ever Asian Games gymnastics gold medal. Back then, the road of Shek’s full-time athlete life all began with “A.S. Watson Group Hong Kong Student Sports Award” (SSA).

“SSA Strengthened My Determination to be a Full-time Athlete.”
“SSA Strengthened My Determination to be a Full-time Athlete.”
Shek Wai-hung was awarded SSA with his brilliant performance in sports in 2007, at the age of 17. He joined the Sports Exchange Tour with other awardees in which he was deeply impressed by the visit to Beijing National Gymnastics Training Centre. He recalls, “Witnessing the national athletes training hard to prepare for the Olympic Games has strengthened my determination to be a full-time athlete.” Returning Hong Kong, Shek officially tendered his application to coach and started to pursue his career in sports, moving on the bright road to the great world of sports ahead.

Not only does SSA inspire Shek to devote himself to the sports world, but it also brings great benefits to Shek through exchanging with other awardees. “I can meet friends from different sports items whom all have their own strengths and merits that I’d love to learn from. Participating in the Exchange Tour has also helped me to build up team spirit and inter-personal communication skills which are definitely beneficial to my athletic life thereafter,” Shek says.

Shek Wai-hungShek Wai-hungBehind the success of Asian Games gold medal was repeated injury and setback in the 2012 London Olympic Games. Shek says, “Principals and friends from SSA would support me whenever I encounter difficulties. I shall always remember their words and encouragement to walk through the dark times.” He continues, “Life is full of ups and downs. Success comes to those who persevere.” Shek Wai-hung proves this with his own story.

 
 
Lulu Chung Wun-lo

Continuing Passion in Sports with Words

Lulu Chung Wun-lo

2008-2009 SSA awardee
Sports items: Rugby, Track and Field

Lulu Chung Wun-lo

Continuing Passion in Sports with Words

Lulu Chung Wun-lo

2008-2009 SSA awardee
Sports items: Rugby, Track and Field

 
 

Awardees of “A.S. Watson Group Hong Kong Student Sports Award” (SSA) come from different schools and different backgrounds. Lulu Chung, awardee of year 2008-2009, by that time representing her school in division three in inter-school competition though, was determined to fight strongly for every opportunity which eventually brought her a bright future.

“This is a mission that I take pride in”
“This is a mission that I take pride in”
Lulu was selected to participate in the Beijing Sports Exchange Tour after receiving her SSA for 2008-2009. She recalls visiting the Beijing National Gymnastics Training Centre and witnessing the training of national athletes, whom painstaking efforts impressed and gave her great motivation. “Seeing them training for one whole day with only few lines of encouraging motto stuck on the four walls surrounding them; while I myself just spend a trivial two hours for training each day. What a great contrast! It is their endeavor and dedication that inspire and remind me to strive for the best in every training.” Lulu’s efforts did ultimately pay off for her first gold medal in Girls Track 100M in inter-school competition.

Entering university, Lulu continued her passion for sports and joined the university rugby team. A current journalism student at The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Lulu’s outstanding performance in placement as sports reporter brought her the golden opportunity to take part in reporting two international events within two year time – The National Games of the People’s Republic of China in Shandong and the Incheon Asian Games – a dream job for many sports reporters indeed. Lulu recalls, “The most memorable experience was interviewing Shek Wai-hung, also a past SSA awardee, at the Incheon Asian Games. I can still remember the touching moment when I witnessed he pocketed the first Asian Games gold medal for Hong Kong. SSA is such a great family. When there’re members having competition overseas, I’m also out there for reporting and interviewing; at the same time sharing the joyful moment with other SSA mates in Hong Kong.”

Lulu Chung Wun-loLulu Chung Wun-loLulu wishes to continue her contribution to local sports with pen – to write and to record the encouraging story of success of Hong Kong athlete. “I may not be a full-time athletic; yet I can be a sports reporter to share the story of local athlete and to spread their spirit and vision with readers. To me, this is a mission that I take pride in,” Lulu says.

 
 
Wong Ying-kei

Overcoming Obstacles with Courage

Wong Ying-kei

2008-2009 SSA awardee
Sports items: Taekwondo, Track and Field, Swimming

Wong Ying-kei

Overcoming Obstacles with Courage

Wong Ying-kei

2008-2009 SSA awardee
Sports items: Taekwondo, Track and Field, Swimming

 
 

Suffering from congenital squint, the disorder of eye muscles has caused Wong Ying-kei the problem of double vision. Yet, this does not hinder her from being an all-round athlete – track and field, swimming, taekwondo, judo, cross-country and windsurfing – she has successfully proved herself having the same capacity as others and took the pride of “A.S. Watson Group Hong Kong Student Sports Award” (SSA) in 2009, “This award gave me self-confidence,” says Ying-kei.

“SSA gave me self-confidence.”
“SSA gave me self-confidence.”
Ying-kei is currently having her law studies in the United Kingdom. Looking at the outstanding student achieving good results in both sports and academics today, you could not imagine she was once a girl lacking self-confidence. Ying-kei shares her story, “Because of my eye problems, lacking eye contacts when talking with others may make people misunderstanding that I’m impolite. As time passes, I did not even want to face people.”

For years, Ying-kei has been working hard to prove herself not inferior to anyone else. She has been repeatedly awarded in different sports competitions and even went further to break the inter-school records. Nominated by her secondary school teacher, Ying-kei took the pride of SSA in 2009, with Yip Pui-yin, local badminton representative, also her senior fellow from the same high school; and Chan King-yin, local windsurfer representative as award presenters.

Wong Ying-keiWong Ying-keiIt was until 2010 when Ying-kei joined the Exchange Tour as a group leader guiding younger SSA past awardees to the athletes training base in Nanjing and Shanghai that marked the turning point. Playing the leading role in the group, Ying-kei took the initiative to communicate with her fellow members, enhancing herself courage and self-esteem. She recalls, “Towards the end of tour, I received the thank you card from my team members expressing their gratitude for my efforts. What a great encouragement! Since then, I have no fear to come into eye contacts with others anymore.”

Tackling psychological barriers and rebuilding self-confidence, Ying-kei strives for success not only on the sports field but also at school. She is now studying laws overseas and wishing to return Hong Kong upon graduation. Being a qualified barrister to fight for justice in the law court is her ultimate goal.

 
 
Eunice Yeung Yun-ting

Concentration and Persistence Are the Key to Success

Eunice Yeung Yun-ting

2008-2009 SSA awardee
Sports item: Track and Field

Eunice Yeung Yun-ting

Concentration and Persistence Are the Key to Success

Eunice Yeung Yun-ting

2008-2009 SSA awardee
Sports item: Track and Field

 
 

Eunice Yeung Yun-ting, a 21-year-old medical fourth year student at The Chinese University of Hong Kong, was once one of the 8A scorers at pubic examination of Maryknoll Convert School. She was then admitted to the medical school under the Early Admission Scheme. Underneath the gentle outlook of this talented student capturing excellent result of 8A2B, Eunice is also a sports elite and wins the name of “Maryknoll Queen of Hurdle”. She went further to pocket the “A.S. Watson Group Hong Kong Student Sports Award” (SSA) in 2008. Eunice shares the tips of success to strike a balance between school works and sports activities, “Concentration is the key! My experience gained on sports grounds has taught me to stay concentrated and positive in every situation. With such positive mindset, I can be more relaxed and bring my skills into full play in examination.”

“I learn to stay concentrated and positive in every situation.”
“I learn to stay concentrated and positive in every situation.”
Eunice considers SSA a great encouragement and achievement to her. It was the Beijing Sports Exchange Tour that inspired her belief in life. Eunice recalls, “I was given the chance to visit the General Administration of Sport of China in Beijing. Seeing the world top athlete training at a close distance made me understand how hard they have paid for the success. I learnt the importance of concentration from them. And sometimes you have to understand the trade-offs in life. It’s all a matter of choice.” Eunice continues, “Set a clear goal, be focused and go for it! You have to be concentrated in everything you do – be it running or studying.”

Eunice Yeung Yun-tingEunice Yeung Yun-tingEunice also quotes, “Where there’s a will, there’s a way.” One should be brave and positive enough to embrace challenges come to him or her. In this sense, she is deeply moved by one of her fellow SSA awardees at the same year, Wong Ying-kei. “In spite of her eyes problem, Ying-kei manages to overcome the difficulties posed on her and attains good results in both sports and academics. Her determination and persistence definitely serve as a role model of mine,” says Eunice.

 
 
Kenneth Cheng Kun-yin

It All Begin with SSA

Kenneth Cheng Kun-yin

2009-2010 SSA awardee
Sports items: Football, Swimming, Tennis

Kenneth Cheng Kun-yin

It All Begin with SSA

Kenneth Cheng Kun-yin

2009-2010 SSA awardee
Sports items: Football, Swimming, Tennis

 
 

To Kenneth Cheng Kun-yin, what he has obtained from “A.S. Watson Group Hong Kong Student Sports Award” (SSA) is far more than just an award on CV, but the opportunity to widen his social circle by making new friends, which he deemed most valuable. “Participating in the Awards Presentation and Sports Exchange Tour brought me to this big SSA family,” Kenneth says.

“I have got numerous valuable opportunities and experiences.”
“I have got numerous valuable opportunities and experiences.”
Kenneth has been a keen sports lover since kids and he has great achievement in football, swimming and tennis. He took the pride of SSA in 2010 and joined the five-day Nanjing Sports Exchange Tour in which he has made many good new friends. Kenneth is particularly thankful to the tour leaders of A.S. Watson Group (ASW) who took good care of participants. “They loved and cared us as sons and daughters, and we enjoyed talking and sharing our feelings with them.” Till now, Kenneth is still an active supporter to SSA activities, no matter social gathering or sharing seminar, he would definitely show up whenever he is in Hong Kong.

Kenneth is currently having his tertiary study in pharmacy in the United Kingdom; and he reckons SSA his great mentor in career. Kenneth recalls, “Back then, I was not quite familiar with the industry when I first arrived Britain which making me felt lost and helpless. Thanked to my SSA networking that provided me the opportunity for a placement in Watsons during my return to Hong Kong for summer holiday in my first university year. The experience to learning from registered pharmacist at work gave me clear direction in career.”

Kenneth Cheng Kun-yinKenneth Cheng Kun-yin Graduating soon with good academic results, Kenneth has already found his way out after graduation – He will be working as a pharmacist trainee in Superdrug, subsidiary of ASW in the United Kingdom. “ASW has given me numerous valuable opportunities and experiences; and I’m more than happy to join this big family after graduation. I wish to continue my support to SSA in another way – to encourage young athletes with my experience,” says Kenneth.

 
 
Cherie Yeung Siu-fong

A Beautiful Life Begins with an Accident

Cherie Yeung Siu-fong

2011-2012 SSA awardee
Sports items: Swimming, Track and Field

Cherie Yeung Siu-fong

A Beautiful Life Begins with an Accident

Cherie Yeung Siu-fong

2011-2012 SSA awardee
Sports items: Swimming, Track and Field

 
 

Cherie Yeung Siu-fong lost both arms to an accident when she was just nine, but not her positive and optimistic mind. Her disability does not stop her passion for sports and painting. Embracing challenges and overcoming hardships in life with courage and enthusiasm, Cherie turns adversity into blessings and lives her life to the fullest.

“One life inspires another. I want to be an art therapist to pass on the spirit of SSA to the ones in need.”
“One life inspires another. I want to be an art therapist to pass on the spirit of SSA to the ones in need.”
It is sports that broaden Cherie’s horizon. Being one of the representatives of Hong Kong team in the Guangzhou Asian Para Games in 2010, Cherie took the pride of “A.S. Watson Group Hong Kong Student Sports Award” (SSA) in 2012 and was selected to join the Sports Exchange Tour thereafter. “During my life in high school, I didn’t have much occasion to connect to the outside world until my participation in the Nanjing Sports Exchange Tour, providing me the opportunity to explore the training centre of national athletes and more importantly, to get to know friends from schools of different districts in Hong Kong,” says Cherie.

It is sports that bring Cherie determination and courage. Being armless, legs and waists are the only drive of power for Cherie to swim. Trainings like turn and touching the timing pad – simple acts to many swimmers maybe – Cherie has to pay extra effort to accomplish them. Yet, she definitely does not give up and instead, she is even more determined to strive for progress and success. She recalls the visit to the aquatic training base during the Nanjing Sports Exchange Tour in which she is deeply impressed by the backflow training pool there, “Such backflow training pool can control the speed of water flow that can enhance the skills and raise the condition of athlete effectively.”

Cherie Yeung Siu-fongCherie Yeung Siu-fongIt is also sports that give Cherie a different view of life, so as people around her. Cherie’s sister who is one year younger than Cherie started to learn swimming all because she is moved by the persistence and dedication of her elder sister, and has now become a good swimmer. Aside from sports, Cherie is also fond of arts and often paints with her feet. She wishes to be an art therapist in the future, “One life inspires another”, she believes.